Idris Ackamoor and The Pyramids

Idris Ackamoor at the Lab Portraits

The Pyramids originally came together in 1972 at Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio where teachers included renowned pianist, Cecil Taylor.

After forming in Paris and embarking on a “cultural odyssey” across Africa, the group recorded three independent albums, ‘Lalibela’ (1973), ‘King Of Kings’ (1974) and ‘Birth / Speed / Merging’ (1976) and became renowned for their striking live shows, mixing percussive, spiritual and space-age jazz with performance theatre and dance. After migrating to San Francisco, they disbanded in 1977. 35 years later, the band reunited in 2012 following growing demand for their music from vinyl collectors.

German label Disko B released the freeform album ‘Otherwordly’ and in 2016, they released their first album for Strut, the acclaimed ‘We Be All Africans’.

‘An Angel Fell’ is released on Strut on 11 th May 2018 and features full handpainted artwork by Lewis Heriz.

“The new album is complete fire – right in the moment.” –

Gilles Peterson.
Strut presents the brand new album from cosmic jazz travellers The
Pyramids, led by saxophonist Idris Ackamoor, ’An Angel Fell’. “I wanted to use folklore, fantasy and drama as a warning bell,” explains Ackamoor.“The songs explore global themes that are important to me and to us all: the rise of catastrophic climate change and our lack of concern for our planet, loss of innocence and separation… but positive themes too, the healing power of music, collective action and the simple beauty of nature.”Produced by Malcolm Catto of The Heliocentrics, with assistance from David R Molina, the album was recorded during an intense week at Quatermass studios in London and is one of the deepest, richest works yet from a band reaching their highest creative peak since the early ’70s. Some of the many highlights include the poignant title track depicting a fallen angel in purgatory, outrage and grief on the powerful, hard hitting ‘Soliloquy For Michael Brown’ and the lilting, beautiful album closer, ‘Sunset’.


released May 11, 2018

Idris Ackamoor: Tenor Saxophone, Keytar, Lead Vocals
Sandra Poindexter: Violins, Lead Vocals
David Molina: Guitar, Effect pedals, Vocals
, Co-Production
Skyler Stover: Double Bass, Vocals
Bradie Speller: Congas, Handsonic, Vocals
Johann Polzer: Drums


Molina co-composed the title track of We be All Africans, during the first musical collaboration between himself and Ackamoor, on the theater production of The Resurrection of She, at Brava Theater Center in 2013. He shorty joined the Pyramids that year.

Pyramids Southern Soul 1 Pyramids Southern Soul 2

Pyramids with Marshall Allen of Sun Ra Arkestra

Pyramids with Marshall Allen of Sun Ra Arkestra